List of Abbreviations

AONB               Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty

CaBA               Catchment Based Approach

CEFAS             Centre for Environment, Fisheries and Aquaculture Science

CIL                   Community Infrastructure Levy

CO2                 Carbon Dioxide

D&SIFCA          Devon and Severn Inshore Fisheries and Conservation Authority

DCC                 Devon County Council

Defra                Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

DLPG               Devon Landscape Policy Group

DWT                Devon Wildlife Trust

EA                    Environment Agency

EC                   European Commission

ECC                 Exeter City Council

EDDC               East Devon District Council

EEMP               Exe Estuary Management Partnership

EEO                 Exe Estuary Officer

EU                   European Union

F&CERMS        Flood and Coastal Erosion Risk Management Strategy

FWAG              Farming and Wildlife Advisory Group

GDP                 Gross Domestic Product

GLA                 General Lighthouse Authority

HMO                Habitat Mitigation Officers

HRA                 Habitats Regulations Assessment

LiCCo               Living with a Changing Coast

LNR                 Local Nature Reserve

LPA                  Local Planning Authority

MCA                 Maritime and Coastguard Agency

MMO                Marine Management Organisation

MSFD               Marine Strategy Framework Directive

NE                   Natural England

NEP                 National Environmental Programme

NLO                 Net Limitation Order

NNR                 National Nature Reserve

NVZ                 Nitrate Vulnerable Zone

OS                   Ordnance Survey

PML                 Plymouth Marine Laboratory

PUG                 Port User Group

RBMP              River Basin Management Plan

RSPB               Royal Society for the Protection of Birds

RYA                 Royal Yachting Association

SAC                 Special Area of Conservation

SANG               Sustainable Alternative Natural Greenspace

SEDHRP          South East Devon Habitat Regulations Partnership

SMP                 Shoreline Management Plan

SPA                 Special Protection Area

SRC                 Shoreline Response Centre

SSSI                Site of Special Scientific Interest

SWW               South West Water

TH                    Trinity House

UST                 Upstream Thinking

WCO                Western Channel Observatory

WFD                Water Framework Directive

WRT                Westcountry Rivers Trust