List of abbreviations

AONB  Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty

CaBA  Catchment Based Approach

CEFAS Centre for Environment, Fisheries and Aquaculture Science

CIL  Community Infrastructure Levy

CO2  Carbon Dioxide

D&SIFCA  Devon and Severn Inshore Fisheries and Conservation Authority

DCC Devon County Council

Defra   Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

DLPG  Devon Landscape Policy Group

DWT  Devon Wildlife Trust

EA   Environment Agency

EC  European Commission

ECC  Exeter City Council

EDDC  East Devon District Council

EEMP Exe Estuary Management Partnership

EEO  Exe Estuary Officer

EU European Union

F&CERMS Flood and Coastal Erosion Risk Management Strategy

FWAG Farming and Wildlife Advisory Group

GDP Gross Domestic Product

GLA   General Lighthouse Authority

HMO   Habitat Mitigation Officers

HRA   Habitats Regulations Assessment

LiCCo Living with a Changing Coast

LNR  Local Nature Reserve

LPA  Local Planning Authority

MCA   Maritime and Coastguard Agency

MMO   Marine Management Organisation

MSFD   Marine Strategy Framework Directive

NE    Natural EnglandNEPNational Environmental Programme

NLO   Net Limitation Order

NNR    National Nature Reserve

NVZ    Nitrate Vulnerable Zone

OS    Ordnance Survey

PML   Plymouth Marine Laboratory

PUG    Port User Group

RBMP   River Basin Management Plan

RSPB    Royal Society for the Protectionof Birds

RYA     Royal Yachting Association

SAC  Special Area of Conservation

SANG   Sustainable Alternative Natural Greenspace

SEDHRP  South East Devon Habitat Regulations Partnership

SMP  Shoreline Management Plan

SPA   Special Protection Area

SRC  Shoreline Response Centre

SSSI   Site of Special Scientific Interest

SWW  South West Water

TH    Trinity House

UST  Upstream Thinking

WCO  Western Channel Observatory

WFD   Water Framework Directive

WRT   Westcountry Rivers Trust