Governance arrangements for the Exe Estuary Management Partnership (EEMP)

A review of governance of the EEMP was undertaken during 2017-18, to address a number of inefficiencies and overlap in the old arrangements. A new structure was formally adopted at the beginning of April 2018, to achieve an improved approach to the ongoing management of the Exe Estuary. The revised governance arrangements are outlined below:

1. Partnership Committee 2. Executive 3. Stakeholder Forum
Summary Purpose Strategic lead Operational and technical lead Community lead and stakeholder engagement

All signatories to the MoA i.e. funding partners and statutory bodies, plus Forum/stakeholder representatives

Voting Members

  • 4 Local Authorities: DCC, EDDC, ECC, TDC – councillor and officer support (1 vote per organisation)
  • 2 Town Councils: ETC, DTC – councillor or officer
  • 4 Parish Councils: SPC, WPC, CSGPC, BCPC – councillor or officer
  • 3 Statutory Agencies: NE, EA, D&SIFCA
  • 7 Other Interests: RSPB, LFHA, PE, RYA, BC, DWCA, EM, DB
  • 2 Forum reps: Chair and Vice Chair

Non-Voting Advisers

  • Exe Stakeholder representative
  • SEDHRP Manager
Key bodies responsible for management.

  • 4 officer representatives for Local Authorities: DCC, ECC, EDDC, TDC
  • 1 representative of funding Town and Parish Councils (normally ETC)
  • 2 representative from statutory bodies: NE, D&SIFCA
  • Partnership Chair
  • Forum Chair OR Vice Chair
  • Maximum 2 non-statutory Funding Partners to represent interest groups (1 nature conservation, 1 recreational or commercial)

Open invitation to any group or member of the public who has registered in advance.

Includes Partnership Committee, water and land based user, conservation interest, interested members of the public.

Chair Partnership Chair i.e. Councillor of Host Authority (DCC) Officer of Host Authority (DCC) Forum Chair – Community representative, elected by Forum
Key Responsibilities As set out in ToR:

  • Provide strategic overview
  • Approve Management Plan, Annual Delivery Plan and Annual Review
  • Set priorities for Management Plan implementation
  • Agree budget
  • Ensure resources are secured
  • Agree overall direction / approach
As set out in ToR:

  • Oversee budget
  • Advise on staffing issues
  • Agree work programme of Exe Estuary Officer
  • Draft Management Plan, Delivery Plan and Annual Review for approval
  • Monitoring of delivery
  • Guidance on projects and initiatives
  • Technical advice on planning and statutory requirements
As set out in ToR:

  • Provision of information
  • Consultative opportunity
  • Two-way communication and open discussion of estuary related matters
  • Consensus seeking in preparation of plans and strategies
Meeting Frequency Twice yearly – September and March Three times per year – February, June and October

1 formal Forum annually – February

1 informal Stakeholder Group – September or as required, for detailed discussion around specific issues or topics related to Exe Estuary management

Transparency A representative of a group or public may request to attend and be allowed to speak, but not vote, at discretion of Chair. Agendas and Minutes publicly available on Closed meeting due to sensitivity of staffing / budget discussions Open meeting. Agendas and Minutes publicly available on
Intended Outcomes
  • Reduction in number of meetings.
  • Representation of all partners in Committee.
  • Slight reduction in meetings.
  • Smaller group for operational guidance.
  • Enhanced role for stronger Forum now formally representing stakeholders.
  • Additional opportunity for wider engagement.


Abbreviation Organisation Abbreviation Organisation
BC British Canoeing ETC Exmouth Town Council
BCPC Bishops Clyst Parish Council LFHA Lympstone Fishery & Harbour Authority
CSGPC Clyst St George Parish Council MoA Memorandum of Agreement
D&SIFCA Devon and Severn Inshore Fisheries & Conservation Authority NE Natural England
DB Devon Birds PE Powderham Estate
DCC Devon County Council RSPB Royal Society for the Protection of Birds
DTC Dawlish Town Council RYA Royal Yachting Association
DWCA Devon Wildfowling & Conservation Association SEDHRP South East Devon Habitat Regulations Partnership
EA Environment Agency SPC Starcross Parish Council
ECC Exeter City Council TDC Teignbridge District Council
EDDC East Devon District Council ToR Terms of Reference
EEMP Exe Estuary Management Partnership WPC Woodbury Parish Council
EM Exmouth Marina

Printable version